Skip to content

3 Days Until the Fundraiser!

February 7, 2013

The 2013 anthology fundraiser to support the Alpha SF/F/H Workshop for Young Writers kicks off February 10! Just as a reminder, this is why we love Alpha:

“On a personal level, I have never been very much of a social person. However, I felt 100% comfortable at Alpha. Everyone shared values and interests similar to my own. In short, Alpha was probably the most fun and engaging experience I have ever had. While Alpha is writing intensive, I believe its primary strength is providing an opportunity for like-minded creative individuals to bond. I processed a vast amount of information during the workshop, and the interaction with the guests, staff and fellow students only helped to increase my understanding and appreciation. Alphans inspire each other in such a unique way—the air is virtually filled to the brim with ideas. The bonding at Alpha is simply extraordinary. You have to feel it to believe it. I consider every single person involved with the workshop an equal, a colleague, and a personal friend.”
– Ian Corse, 2011

“Alpha taught me how to write better, taught me how to critique at all. It convinced me to keep writing at a time when I was convinced my writing was worthless. It’s hard to tell people what Alphans mean to me. They’re always asking ‘How long have you known each other? Where did you meet?’ And we have to say, ‘We hung out for a week… three months ago (or three years ago),’ as if that defines how close we are.”
– Rachel Halpern, 2007 & 2008

“Alpha is a magical place you can go and share your brain with people who will appreciate it, and give you some of their brain in return. When you leave, you will have a patchwork brain filled with such diverse influences and incredible inspiration that you can hardly contain it inside your skull.”
– Lara Donnelly, 2007 & 2008

“One of the strongest aspects of Alpha is the networking that occurs there: Many Alphans build up a network of friends who’ll support them in their writing for years to come. That’s vital. Having a group of peers to critique your work and motivate you to write is how you become a better writer.”
– Isaac White, 2007 & 2008

We hope that nobody has to forgo this experience because of financial considerations. To read more testimonials, check out our Student Experiences page.

Thank you for your support!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2015 10:28 am

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and
    wanted to mention that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your
    weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I
    am hoping you write once more soon!

    • May 18, 2017 1:49 am

      Bonjour RoseJe comprends que cette trahison ait pu vous faire souffrir. Mais il faut à tout prix ne plus y penser, ne pas ressasser ce mauvais souvenir, en songeant par exemple aux bons moments que vous avez passés avec votre conjoint, et surtout à ceux qui restent à venir… il n’y a malheureusement pas de solution miracle…Si votre amour est fort, vous arriverez à passer le caimm8230;A#pcale&ent.Eva

Leave a Reply

